Clay Co. Corn Growers Earn Top State Honors

The backbone of agriculture in the U.S. continues to be the American farmer. As they strive to meet the growing demand for corn to satisfy increasing world need, one area grower has been honored through the 2018 National Corn Yield Contest. The national contest, sponsored annually by the National Corn Growers Association, recognizes farmers from across the country for their exceptional efforts. Paige Catt of Corning placed Third in the state in the I: Irrigated Class with a yield of 252.81909999999999 bushels per acre. The hybrid used in the winning field was Pioneer P2089VYHR. The winning field was located in Arkansas. Catt was one of 417 state winners nationwide. Clay County farmers swept the C: A No-Till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated category with Keith Woolverton of Pollard placing First in the state with hybrid brand: DEKALB DKC65-95 with a yield of 212.9990. Danny Simpson, Rector placed Second with Pioneer P2089VYHR and had a yield of 210.9191 3 and in Third Place was Chase Sain, Rector, who planted Pioneer P1197YHR with a yield of 153.8660. Another Clay County farmer, Drew Woolverton placed Second in the state in the E: No-Till/ Strip-Till Irrigated category planting DEKALB DKC70-27 with a yield of 277.8870.



To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.

Clay County Courier

810 N Missouri Ave.
P.O. Box 85
Corning, Arkansas 72422-0085
(870) 857-3531